Menu
German Film Commissions

German Film Commissions

Film commissions are regional points of contact for film industry companies of all kinds involved in the production of film, television and video projects, and who require information, services or contacts. The working practices and operating principles of film commissions are defined by an international umbrella organization, the Association of Film Commissioners International AFCI. In conformity with AFCI by-laws, the German film commissions have agreed on the following joint overall guidelines, whose main aim is global transparency. They are also intended as an aid to maintaining standards and competitiveness in both national and international contexts.

Leistungen:

Film commissions are non-profit organizations, i.e. they offer information and services free of charge to the national and international film industries. One emphasis of their work is the strengthening of their respective regions in the area of film, television and video production. Their various distinguishing features, such as municipal or regional branch offices, have no influence on their basic working practices. The German film commissions are financed as a general rule by the federal states, by filmfunding institutions or economic development programs.

Film commissions are an active part of a continually improving network of regional and public agencies, and use their local and media industry knowledge to improve production and shooting conditions within their respective regions. They operate as an interface between the film production industry and the authorizing bodies.

Film commissions are a central coordination and information point for all matters concerning shooting and production in their respective regions. They are not responsible for the granting and obtaining of shooting permits, but in certain circumstances can act in an intermediary capacity using their network contacts. Their service covers information on the responsible authorities and application procedures, together with the contact addresses of service providers for location scouting, the procurement of shooting permits, street cordoning, equipment, etc. This information is available online, in print form or on inquiry. Film commissions act as an intermediary between the film industry, public authorities and location providers should problems arise. Their networks here provide for the efficient and disinterested search for a solution acceptable to all parties, taking into account all factual circumstances and the concerns of residents.

Film commissions support location scouting by providing free, publicly available location guides in the form of online/offline databanks and/or in print. The guides primarily contain public locations. To improve our service and our collaboration with local location scouts and agencies, third parties may also add locations to the databanks.

Film commissions in Germany process location inquiries with the help of their existing databanks and of regional location scouts. Specific, project-based location scouting is not usually among their range of services. The German film commissions thus contribute to the strengthening of their regional film industries by avoiding improper competition and ensuring the employment of local service providers.

Film commissions have an overview of the production-related infrastructure of their regions. Free, publicly available production guides are available in the form of online/offline databanks and/or in print. Inquiries as to film industry resources and production procedures are dealt with in cooperation with and with reference to the regional industry. Film commissions are enjoined to neutrality in their dealings with partners. The answering of inquiries is intended to be as effective and as practicable for the industry as possible, and to take all factors into account. This means that contact lists can be drawn up with a specific aim in mind and with a  reduced number of contacts, should this be required and given the know-how for such a selection.

Film commissions are in possession of information about regional and national funding and financing models, and are able to answer general funding questions and those relating, for example, to co-production possibilities. Detailed inquiries are referred to the relevant institutions or funding advisors.

Inquiries to the film commissions are dealt with promptly. Aninitial reaction or answer should be given immediately. Delays may however occur in the case of more complex inquiries. Answers are based at all times on careful and competent research. Any information passed on must be reliable and verified.

Film commissions are marketing and PR service providers for the German federal states with regard to their regional film and film production industries and their importance as film industry locations. At national and international trade fairs and festivals, the film commissions represent their regional industries and, in joint appearances, the German film industry as a whole.

Concluding Remarks:
Preserving and guaranteeing the above principles is prerequisite to the further establishment of the German film commissions and ensures fair and healthy competition.

Subscribe to Newsletter
  • English Newsletter
Contact
Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Friedensallee 14-16
DE - 22765 Hamburg
Directions

Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Filmwerkstatt Kiel
Haßstr. 22
DE - 24103 Kiel
Directions

Contact our team
Social Media

Menu

German Film Commissions

Film Commissions sind regionale Ansprechpartner für Produktionsunternehmen aller Art, die mit der Herstellung von Film-, Fernseh- und Videoprojekten befasst sind und Informationen, Service oder Kontakte benötigen. Der internationale Dachverband der Film Commissions, die Association of Film Commissioners International AFCI, hat im Rahmen ihrer Aufgaben Standards erarbeitet, welche deren Arbeits- und Funktionsweise weltweit definieren. In Anlehnung an die „Bylaws“ der AFCI haben sich auch die deutschen Film Commissions auf eine Leitlinie für ihre gemeinsame Arbeit verständigt. Das Hauptziel dieser Leitlinien ist globale Transparenz. Darüber hinaus helfen sie, den Ansprüchen im nationalen und internationalen Vergleich gerecht zu werden und dem Wettbewerb Stand zu halten.

Leistungen:

Film Commissions sind so genannte „non-profit organizations“, d.h. sie bieten kostenlose Information, Dienstleistung und Service für die nationale und internationale Filmbranche. Ein Schwerpunkt ist die Stärkung der jeweiligen Region im Bereich der Film-, TV- und Videoproduktion. Regionale Besonderheiten sind aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Länderstrukturen gegeben, wie z.B. städtische und regionale Außenstellen, welche aber keinen Einfluss auf die grundsätzliche Arbeitsweise von Film Commissions haben. Sie werden in Deutschland in der Regel von den Bundesländern, Filmförderungen oder Wirtschaftsförderungen finanziert.

Film Commissions arbeiten aktiv an und in Netzwerken regionaler und öffentlicher Stellen unter Nutzung ihrer jeweiligen Branchen- und Standortkenntnisse. Sie nutzen diese zur Verbesserung der Dreh- und Produktionsbedingungen in der jeweiligen Region. Sie bilden eine Schnitt- und Moderationsstelle für Filmproduktionsbranche und Genehmigungsbehörden.

Film Commissions stellen eine zentrale Anlauf- und Informationsstelle rund um das Thema „Dreharbeiten und Filmproduktion“ in der jeweiligen Region  dar. Sie sind nicht für Erteilung und Beschaffung von Drehgenehmigungen zuständig, sondern können in Einzelfällen unter Nutzung ihrer regionalen Netzwerke versuchen zu vermitteln. Ihr Service umfasst Informationen zu Drehgenehmigungsverfahren und Zuständigkeiten. Diese stellen die Film Commissions online, in Printversionen oder auf Anfrage zur Verfügung. Für die Motivsuche und -besichtigung, die Beschaffung von Drehgenehmigungen, die Absperrung von Straßen, Beschaffung von Equipment usw. verweist die Film Commission an die regionalen Dienstleister. Als Mittler zwischen Filmbranche, Behörden und Motivgebern tritt die Film Commission in Problemfällen auf. Für die kompetente, neutrale Moderation greift sie auf Netzwerke zurück und sucht zusammen mit den Partnern, und unter Berücksichtigung aller faktischen Umstände sowie der Anwohnerbelange, nach einer für alle Beteiligten akzeptablen Lösung.

Film Commissions leisten Unterstützung bei der Locationsuche. Diese erfolgt durch Bereithalten von kostenlosen, öffentlichen Location Guides in Form von online/offline Datenbanken und/oder Printausgaben, die vorrangig öffentliche Motive enthalten. Zur Verbesserung der Serviceleistungen und Zusammenarbeit mit den regionalen Location Scouts und -agenturen können je nach Region auch Motive durch Dritte von außen in die Datenbanken eingestellt werden.

Film Commissions in Deutschland bearbeiten Locationanfragen mit Hilfe und unter Einbeziehung vorhandener Datenbanken und regionaler Location Scouts. Gezieltes und projektspezifisches Scouten von Locations gehört üblicher Weise nicht zum Leistungsspektrum deutscher Film Commissions. Die Film Commissions tragen somit zur Stärkung der regionalen Filmwirtschaft bei. Sie vermeiden nicht nur unzulässige Konkurrenz, sondern tragen wesentlich zur Auslastung regionaler Dienstleister bei.

Film Commissions haben einen Überblick über die produktionsbezogene Infrastruktur ihres Standortes. Sie halten einen kostenlosen, öffentlichen Production Guide in Form von online/offline Datenbanken und/oder Printausgaben bereit. Anfragen bzgl. filmtechnischer Ressourcen und produktionstechnischer Abläufe bearbeiten sie unter Einbeziehung und Verweis auf die Branche. Film Commissions sind zur Neutralität den Partnern gegenüber angehalten. Unter Berücksichtigung aller Faktoren sollte die Beantwortung so effektiv und branchengerecht wie möglich erfolgen. D. h. eine Kontaktliste kann gezielt und in der Anzahl der Kontakte reduziert erstellt werden, wenn es die Anfrage verlangt und das Know-how für eine solche Auswahl vorhanden ist.

Film Commissions sind über regionale und bundesweite Förder- und Finanzierungsmodelle informiert und können somit im Grundsatz allgemeine Förderanfragen und solche in Bezug auf z.B. Koproduktionsmöglichkeiten beantworten. Detaillierte Anfragen leiten sie an die zuständigen Institutionen oder Förderberater weiter.

Die an Film Commissions gerichteten Anfragen werden unverzüglich bearbeitet. Eine erste Reaktion bzw. Antwort sollte umgehend erteilt werden. Eine in der Folge und aufgrund komplexerer Problemstellungen längere Bearbeitungsdauer ist in Ausnahmefällen möglich. Die Bearbeitung erfolgt prinzipiell aufgrund sorgfältiger, kompetenter Recherche. Herausgegebene Informationen müssen überprüft und zuverlässig sein.

Film Commissions sind für die deutschen Bundesländer in Hinblick auf deren regionale Filmindustrie und Produktionswirtschaft sowie ihre Bedeutung als Film-Standort Marketing– und PR-Dienstleister. Auf nationalen und internationalen Messen und Festivals vertreten die Film Commissions ihre regionale und bei gemeinsamen Auftritten die gesamtdeutsche Filmwirtschaft und -locations.

Schlussbemerkung:
Eine Wahrung und Gewährleistung der genannten Prinzipien ist Grundvoraussetzung für die weitere Etablierung von Film Commissions in Deutschland und garantieren einen gesunden, fairen Wettbewerb.

Newsletter abonnieren
  • Film im Norden
  • Location Newsletter
Kontakt
Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Friedensallee 14-16
22765 Hamburg
Anfahrt

Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Filmwerkstatt Kiel
Haßstr. 22
24103 Kiel
Anfahrt

Alle Ansprechpartner und Durchwahlen finden Sie unter Team
Social Media