Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein supports cinema films and exceptional TV productions of all genres. It provides financial support for all phases of film projects, from the first script drafts through production to sales, distribution and festival presentations. Deciding criteria for financial support include the quality of content and a positive financial effect for the region. The latter can include making use of Hamburg and Schleswig-Holstein as shooting locations or employing local film professionals and film-technical businesses.


The partners behind FFHSH are the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the Federal State of Schleswig-Holstein. Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein has c. 12,6 m euros p.a. at its disposal (including operative costs). 8.1 m euros are means issued by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, the TV broadcasting companies NDR and ZDF each supply 1 m euros, and a further 2.5 m euros are taken from a contingent of radio license fees as determined by the Legislature. This sum includes 300,000 euros for Filmwerkstatt Kiel, as well as 450,000 euros for NDR commissions and co-productions, which continue to be granted in accordance with former MSH regulations to strengthen Schleswig-Holstein as a film and TV location. Two committees consisting of experienced industry experts decide on the allocation of the means: Committee 1 decides on films with production costs of more than 800,000 euros, Committee 2 decides on projects with a budget less than this.

Supervisory board

Dr. Carsten Brosda (Chairman)
Minister of Culture, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Sabine Rossbach (Vice-Chairwoman)
Director of Landesfunkhaus Hamburg (representative of NDR)

Susanne Bieler-Seelhoff
Head of Department Culture in the Ministry of Justice, Cultural and European Affairs of the State of Schleswig-Holstein


Prof. Martin Hagemann
Teacher at Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf and producer

Marlis Kieft

Dr. Frauke Pieper
Lawyer and data protection at ZDF

Dr. Michael Trautmann
Entrepreneur, thjnk ag

Jana Schiedek
State Secretary of Culture and Media, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Claudia Landsberger
Media Consultant


Claudia Landsberger


The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Ministry of Culture

The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg holds 74.8 per cent of FFHSH and is represented by the Head of the Ministry of Culture, Dr. Carsten Brosda. The contact for all matters FFHSH within the ministry is the Department for Art, Creative Economy, Music and Cultural Projects (Abteilung 2). Their primary task is to maintain and expand Hamburg as a location for art, culture and the media.

Ministry of Culture of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
Hohe Bleichen 22, 20354 Hamburg

State Counsellor for Culture, Media and Digital Affairs:
Dr. Carsten Brosda
T.: +49 40 428 24 204

Head of Amt Kultur:
Senatsdirektor Hans Heinrich Bethge
T: +49 40 428 24 270

Head of the Department of Art, Creative Economy, Music and Cultural Projects (Abteilung 2):
Dr. Pit Hosak
T.: +49 40 428 24 126

Film and photography:
Juana Bienenfeld
T: +49 40 428 24 279

The State of Schleswig-Holstein

Ministry of Justice, Cultural and European Affairs

Since 2007, the state of Schleswig-Holstein holds 25.2 per cent of FFHSH. The Department of Culture within the Ministry of Justice, Cultural and European Affairs under the direction of Minister Anke Spoorendonk supports state cultural institutions such as museums, theatres, archives and libraries and is responsible for the funding of art and culture. State Secretary Dr. Eberhard Schmidt-Ellsaeßer is the acting partner of FFHSH.

Ministry of Justice, Culture and European Affairs

Department of Cultural Affairs
Reventlouallee 2-4, 24105 Kiel

Susanne Bieler-Seelhoff
T: +49 (0) 431 988  57 04
F: +49 (0) 431 988  58 57

Gert Haack
Music and film funding
T: +49 (0) 431 988 58 48


Committee 1

Projects with production costs of
more than 800,000 euros

Steen Bille
Author and dramatic adviser, Copenhagen

Maria Köpf
Executive Director Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg

Sophie Molitoris
Molitoris Casting, Hamburg

Christian Granderath
NDR, Head of films, family and series department, Hamburg

Peter Preisser
Film business consultant, Hamburg

Caroline von Senden
ZDF, Chief Editor Fernsehspiel I, Mainz

Volker Einrauch
Director and author, Josefine Film Produktion, Hamburg

Renate Rose
Managing Director European Film Commission, Hamburg

Committee 2

Projects with production costs of
less than 800,000 euros

Timo Großpietsch
NDR, Editor for Documentaries & Reportages, Hamburg

Birgit Glombitza
Art Director International Short Film Festival, Hamburg

Maria Köpf
Executive Director Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg

Joachim Kühn
Executive Director, REAL FICTION film distribution, Cologne

Arne Sommer
Head of Filmwerkstatt, Kiel

Andres Veiel
Director and author, Berlin

Maike-Mia Höhne
Filmmaker and curator of “Berlinale Shorts”, Hamburg

Katrin Klamroth
Dramatic adviser, filmmaker and cultural manager, Hamburg

Broadcaster participation


Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein GmbH has ca. 11.5 m euros p.a. at its disposal. NDR and ZDF each contribute an annual 1 m euros to the budget.

The broadcasting agencies also have representatives on the Committees: Committee 1 includes Daniela Mussgiller (NDR) and Caroline von Senden (ZDF) and Committee 2 includes Barbara Denz (NDR).



MEDIA Europe loves cinema

Filmfest Hamburg

Mönckebergstr. 18, 20095 Hamburg
Tel: +49 40 369 052 - 172
Fax: +49 40 399 19 00 - 10

Creative Europe Desk Hamburg

Friedensallee 14-16, 22765 Hamburg
T: +49 40 390 65 85
F: +49 40 390 86 32

Subscribe to Newsletter
  • English Newsletter
Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Friedensallee 14-16
DE - 22765 Hamburg

Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein
Filmwerkstatt Kiel
Haßstr. 22
DE - 24103 Kiel

Contact our team
Social Media